Love songs for underage girls

Love of men for young girls remains so universal that it finds its way in popular songs, despite the immense stigma attached to it by current morality.

The song “Young Girl,” written by Jerry Fuller and performed by Gary Puckett & The Union Gap, an American pop rock group, was released in 1968. It hit number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 for three weeks, also number 1 on the UK Singles Chart and the US Cash Box listing. It is about a man who discovers that the girl he loves is younger than he thought, she is in fact under legal age; so he asks her to leave him before they go too far. Here is the video from YouTube:

And here are the lyrics from Google Play:

Young Girl
by Jerry Fuller

Young girl, get out of my mind
My love for you is way out of line
Better run, girl
You’re much too young, girl

With all the charms of a woman
You’ve kept the secret of your youth
You led me to believe
You’re old enough to give me Love
And now it hurts to know the truth, oh

Young girl, get out of my mind
My love for you is way out of line
Better run, girl
You’re much too young, girl

Beneath your perfume and make-up
You’re just a baby in disguise
And though you know
That it is wrong to be alone with me
That come on look is in your eyes, oh

Young girl, get out of my mind
My love for you is way out of line
Better run, girl
You’re much too young, girl

So hurry home to your mama
I’m sure she wonders where you are
Get out of here before I have the time
To change my mind
‘Cause I’m afraid we’ll go too far, oh

Young girl, get out of my mind
My love for you is way out of line
Better run, girl
You’re much too young, girl

Young girl, get out of my mind
My love for you is way out of line
Better run, girl
You’re much too young, girl

The British rock band The Police released in September 1980 the song “Don’t Stand So Close To Me,” written by their lead singer Sting, as the lead single from their third album Zenyatta Mondatta. It won the 1982 Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal. It is about a love affair between a schoolgirl and her teacher, “This girl is half his age” and the song alludes to “That book by Nabakov” (I keep the bad spelling). Before joining The Police, Sting had previously worked as an English teacher, and he had noticed 15-year-old girls fancying him.

Here is the video from YouTube:

And here are the lyrics from Google Play (or the Sting official site):

Don’t Stand So Close To Me
by Sting (Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner)

Young teacher, the subject
Of schoolgirl fantasy
She wants him so badly
Knows what she wants to be
Inside her there’s longing
This girl’s an open page
Book marking – she’s so close now
This girl is half his age

Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me
Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me

Her friends are so jealous
You know how bad girls get
Sometimes it’s not so easy
To be the teacher’s pet
Temptation, frustration
So bad it makes him cry
Wet bus stop, she’s waiting
His car is warm and dry

Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me
Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me

Loose talk in the classroom
To hurt they try and try
Strong words in the staff room
The accusations fly
It’s no use, he sees her
He starts to shake and cough
Just like the old man in
That book by Nabakov

Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me
Don’t stand, don’t stand so
Don’t stand so close to me

(Refrain repeated 3 more times)

Finally notice the song “So Young” by The Rolling Stones (video on YouTube, lyrics on OldieLyrics and on MetroLyrics). That the girl is underage is subtly hinted: “Come and share my popcorn, it’s not a federal offense” and “If I see big trouble comin’, I’m gonna beat a quick retreat.”

Thanks to ‘Tina Willis (For The Children)’ for drawing my attention to these three songs.

Leave a Reply

