Little Girl: Little Girl

MoonCCat - Little Girl concert poster

MoonCCat – Little Girl concert poster

In the post Absinthe, poetry and little girls (by moonlight), I mentioned the absinthe seller and poet MoonCCat who also sings for a rock group called Little Girl. Their first CD contains 4 titles, the first song being also titled Little Girl. One can hear it on SoundCloud. Here are the lyrics:

Little Girl
(Lyrics and music by Little Girl)

Oh little girl
You are my dream
Oh little girl
It’s you I’ve seen
Oh little girl
I lose my mind
Oh little girl
Don’t be so blind

  I love your pale blue eyes
  I sink into this paradise
  I love your beautiful smile
  It’s like a big red butterfly
  But I missed my chance
  I can’t live our romance
  ‘Cos I’m already dead

Oh little girl
I am your ghost
Oh little girl
Please don’t fear me
Without you I’m so lost
Please come to me
I’m here for you
Your dream came true!

  I love your pale blue eyes
  I sink into this paradise
  I love your beautiful smile
  It’s like a big red butterfly
  But I missed my chance
  I can’t live our romance
  ‘Cos I’m already dead

Oh little girl
Listen to the nightingale
The bird sings for us
It casts a spell
That bounds us forever
In eternal night
Shall I cross the river
Or will you come to the light?

  I love your pale blue eyes
  I sink into this paradise
  I love your beautiful smile
  It’s like a big red butterfly
  But I missed my chance
  I can’t live our romance
  ‘Cos I’m already dead

The man is fascinated by the little girl, but he can’t live his romance with her, because he is already dead; he becomes then her ghost and asks her to come to him: he senses a spell that bounds them forever in eternal night. This song is clearly inspired by the poem The Phantom-Wooer of the ‘dark romantic’ writer Thomas Lovell Beddoes. In it, a ghost is in love with a woman and tries to woo her at night, he invites her to die and to come with him into his quiet tomb. Beddoes is one of MoonCCat’s favourite poets, the latter used several of his poems as lyrics for his songs, in particular Dream-Pedlary (video on YouTube) and of course The Phantom-Wooer (video on YouTube).

Should one die in order to love? Who or what kills the lovers?

tumblr_ma8s4rb5hx1qadv0oo1_1280

Leave a Reply

